For me, today is day 4. I was expecting to be extraordinarily sore, but it surprisingly wasn’t that bad, so I decided to target my legs today with another workout from my friend Jessie. If you’re like me, you probably think resistance bands are kinda wimpy, well that’s what I thought. After trying her resistance band workout, and getting my butt thoroughly kicked, I can say with confidence that these workouts will get you on the road to body reform!

As we all know, exercise alone will not get you healthy and in the shape you want. The other part of it is nutrition. They say “abs are made in kitchen” and that “nutrition is 70% and exercise is only 30%” I don’t want to sound like a broken record, but it’s true. If you put all the effort into working out, don’t blow it with bad food choices, something I’m notorious for (I love dessert). So let’s get started.

First off, I think it’s important to identify your triggers. When the kids start screaming is it time to grab a chocolate bar? Do you have trouble saying no at happy hour? Do late night sugar cravings get that best of you? We all have our triggers, no one is perfect. The difference between us and those in shape is that they prepare themselves to encounter their triggers. By having a game plan, an alternative, or a hard limit you can control what you’re going to let enter your body. I urge you to focus on real food. Veggies, fruit, whole grains, lean protein, and healthy fats. If you focus on trying to get the nutrients you need daily, you’ll have way less time to eat processed, sugar filled foods. When you do decide to indulge make it worth it. If your weakness is ice cream, don’t blow those calories on a bag of potato chips, go get yourself a scoop of ice cream, which leads me to your challenge. Get rid of the unhealthy processed foods in your house. This can be painful, but it’s a necessity to your health. If you’d like you can bag it up and donate it, though I have strong reservations about giving crappy food to people in need, but that’s another issue. The point is, if there is bad food, easily available in your own home, you are more likely to go for that instead of a healthier snack that may be in your fridge out of sight. So get rid of the junk, and make healthier choices easily accessible. Keep fruit in a bowl on your counter or in your fridge. Take 30 minutes to an hour to prep some snacks, or if you’re short on time, or padded in your bank account, purchase pre-cut fruits and veggies. We need make real food our go to, instead of to go.

That’s all for now, good luck, and crunch on!

Britney

