Everyone has to start somewhere. That’s what I keep telling myself, at least. I happen to be starting 80 pounds overweight. But that’s okay. I had an art teacher that said “If you can draw beautifully already that’s great, but if all you can do is draw a stick figure, that’s even better, because you’ll get the most out of this class.” Though the situation is quite different, I agree with the sentiment. The one with the longer journey gets the opportunity to get the most out of his or her transformation.

Speaking of transformations, where do we start? We need a way to measure our success, so the first step should be goal setting. You want to choose a combination of short-term and long-term goals. These goals need to be attainable and motivating. Meaning, don’t set yourself up for failure by making your goals outlandish, i.e. losing 20 pounds in a month is not going to happen, at least not safely. One of my short-term goals is to workout for 21 consecutive days. I just finished my summer semester at school and have about 3 weeks until my next semester begins. I’m currently on day 3. The soreness is beginning to set in, so I will definitely need an active recovery day tomorrow. If you want to follow along, this is what I’ve done so far.

Aug/3 Day 1: 1 mile jog.

Aug/4 Day 2: Workout video by my friend Jessie. She’s a beast so I had to modify quite a bit. Jessie Legs Workout

Aug/5 Day 3: 30 minutes on stationary bike. 30 minutes abs/ stretch.

That’s about all I have for you tonight. But, I can’t wait to share more with you as I continue on this journey. If you want to know more about me, check out the about section. Have a great night, and crunch on!

